Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: Extra-Curricular > breadcrumbs: Activities > breadcrumbs: FFA >


Ajax Loading Image


Last Chance for State Convention

Story image 1_0
Story image 1_1
Story image 1_2

Members of the Maywood FFA Chapter traveled to the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture (NCTA) in Curtis on Tuesday, March 3rd, to compete in the second spring Career Development Events (CDE). For many FFA members in District 11 this was their last chance to qualify for state convention. This was the case for many Maywood FFA members as well. Maywood FFA members competed in three CDE events which consisted of Veterinary Technology, Nursery and Landscape, and Meats judging. Students that were competing in these events had a only few short weeks to prepare since the last CDE, so they had to put all their energy and focus into their preparation for these events. While still attending morning and evening FFA practices, students who wanted to go above and beyond practiced on their own time to achieve their goals of being successful in their events and qualifying for State Convention.

The Nursery and Landscape team consisting of Bailey Brown, Marisa Foster, Tyler Esslinger, and Breanna Kahler won the Nursery and Landscape competition and will be one of two teams representing District 11 at the Nebraska State FFA Convention in Lincoln. Grace Koubek also competed in Nursery and Landscape. Kaely Perkins, Amanda Smith, and Brandi Bomberger were on the Veterinary Tech. team. Kaely received a blue ribbon and Amanda received a white ribbon. The Meats judging team consisted of Bryar Gerlach, Tucker Hartley, and Von Fritsche. Bryar Gerlach received a blue ribbon. This was the last CDE of the 2014-2015 and therefore the last chance to qualify for the State FFA Convention which will be held in Lincoln from April 8th through the 10th. The teams that will be participating at the Nebraska State FFA Convention are: The Junior Livestock Judging Team of Bryar Gerlach, Tucker Hartley, Kaely Perkins, and Amanda Smith; the Agricultural Science team of Von Fritsche, Amanda Smith, Kayla Minary, and Paul White. In addition, Bailey Brown, Hope Stone, Grace Koubek, and Marisa Foster qualified in Floriculture; and Marisa Foster, Tyler Esslinger, Bailey Brown, and BreAnna Kahler are competing in Nursery and Landscape. Be sure to congratulate these students on their accomplishments and wish them good luck at the state competition!



  • Facebook Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Accelerated Reading
  • PowerSchool Icon
  • Schoology Icon
  • IXL Icon
  • Teammates Icon

  • Agile Minds icon
  • Pearson icon
  • Edgenuity icon
  • Learning Odyssey icon
  • YouTube Icon

Maywood Public Schools#1 Tiger DriveP.O. Box 46Maywood, NE  69038

308-362-4223Fax: 308-362-4454

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Back To Top